Languages

Communicating About Communicable Diseases!
Jan 05 2012
amandasolarsh's picture
Source: amandasolarsh
4.142855
Summary Information

Keywords:

disease, bacteria. virus, communicable, non-communicable, public service announcement (PSA), symptoms, epidemic
Topic: 
Biology
Workplace Skills: 
Raising Questions
Problem Solving
Secondary Research
Use of Data
Discussion
Recording & Reporting
Teamwork
Independent Thinking

Estimated Time Required:

5-8 hours

Target Grade (Ages):

Grade 7 (Ages 12-13)
Grade 8 (Ages 13-14)
Grade 9 (Ages 14-15)

Diversity Indicators:

This lesson plan is suitable for all learners and encourages students to conduct research and be creative while working in a group setting.

Tab Wrapper

Your Rating: 
0
Your rating: None Average: 4.1 (7 votes)

Comments

petrossp's picture

December 1, 2012 - 1:28pm

Great idea in incorporating

Great idea in incorporating technology into the lesson. I for one am not familiar with Photostory but in a similar type of project students make PSAs that they upload onto Youtube for inclass viewing. Thanks for sharing.
dawnm44's picture

February 14, 2013 - 10:41am

Great idea

Great idea and nice way to hook kids with communicable diseases and video. Thanks for all of the detail and information needed to run this well.
lgallegos's picture

April 29, 2014 - 8:21pm

I thought this was a great

I thought this was a great lesson. I used it as an anatomy lesson when we were in between chapters. Kids did a great job of using photostory to pass along information about some very important communicable disease. Great use of technology in the classroom.
Laceybibler's picture

May 26, 2014 - 1:18pm

The rubric was very detailed!

The rubric was very detailed! It offered a lot of room for modification/accommodation. The student assessment form gave accountability and a way for them to practice constructive criticism. The overall lesson is very well written with objectives clearly stated and is very easy to follow or adapt to the classroom
pokemon's picture

October 30, 2014 - 2:43am

Photostory was really great

Photostory was really great idea. It's really helpful for the children in the society. flymesocial.com
Raj Kumar Raj's picture

January 6, 2017 - 4:59am

Packers and Movers Mumbai

Packers and Movers Mumbai goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/ Packers and Movers Pune goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/ Packers and Movers Bangalore goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/
Raj Kumar Raj's picture

January 6, 2017 - 4:59am

Packers and Movers Delhi goto

Packers and Movers Delhi goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/ Packers and Movers Gurgaon goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/ Packers and Movers Hyderabad goto http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/
Raj Kumar Raj's picture

January 6, 2017 - 5:00am

Packers and Movers Noida @

Packers and Movers Noida @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/ Packers and Movers Chennai @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/ Packers and Movers Navi Mumbai @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/ Packers and Movers Thane @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane/ Packers and Movers Ghaziabad @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/ Packers and Movers Faridabad @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/