Détective d'ADN

Langues

Share This Experiment

Experiment Category: 

Objectif: 

Résoudre le crime grâce aux techniques d'analyse d'ADN.

Matériel requis: 

  • eau
  • une goutte de détergent à vaisselle
  • 2,5 ml de sel
  • 5 ml d'éthanol glacé ou de l'alcool méthylique ou à friction (isopropanol)
  • deux tasses et un contenant transparent avec couvercle

Marche à suivre et observation: 

1. Dissous 2,5 ml de sel dans une demi-tasse d'eau. Ajoute une goutte de détergent à vaisselle. Ce liquide sera utilisé pour décomposer les cellules et libérer l'ADN. 

2. Aspire 20 à 25 ml d'eau dans la bouche mais n'avale pas! Rince-toi vigoureusement la bouche pendant environ 30 secondes pour faire décoller des cellules des parois des joues. Crache l'eau dans une tasse ou un verre propre. 

3. Ajoute 5 ml de ce liquide dans un petit contenant propre avec couvercle (un tube de 20 ml ou une cartouche transparente pour pellicule photographique ferait l'affaire). Ajoute 2,5 ml de la solution composée de sel et de détergent à vaisselle (saline/détergent). Ferme le couvercle et bascule le contenant délicatement 3 ou 4 fois pour mélanger (ne le secoue pas pour ne pas produire de mousse). Ce procédé permettra de fragmenter plusieurs centaines de cellules de la joue, libérant l'ADN du noyau. 

4. Délicatement, laisse couler 5 ml d'éthanol glacé dans le tube. Le méthanol ou l'alcool à friction - isopropanol - ferait aussi l'affaire; assure-toi que la solution est glacée en la plaçant dans le congélateur pendant quelques heures avant l'expérience. Surveille la ligne de séparation des deux couches. Tu verras la formation de filaments d'ADN qui s'étirent vers la couche du haut (l'éthanol). L'ADN n'est pas soluble dans l'éthanol, c'est pourquoi la solution d'ADN au contact de l'éthanol se solidifie (formant un sel ADN). 

5. Tu peux récupérer les brins d'ADN à l'aide d'un crochet en verre (ou un fait à partir d'une attache en plastique) en le plongeant doucement à travers les deux couches. Si ça ne marche pas, renverse délicatement le tube à quelques reprises jusqu'à ce que l'alcool soit mélangé. L'ADN solidifié ressemblera à une petite boule de fil blanc.

Résultats: 

Toutes les cellules de ton corps contiennent le même ADN! Tu utilises les cellules de tes joues parce qu'elles sont plus faciles à recueillir. L'ADN se trouve dans le noyau d'une cellule, le poste de commande de la cellule. Pour libérer l'ADN, tu dois fragmenter la cellule. Le détergent permet de déchirer la membrane de la cellule (la couche externe de la cellule) et de libérer l'ADN et d'autres parties de la cellule. L'ajout de l'éthanol (ou de l'alcool) permet de séparer les filaments d'ADN des autres matières de la cellule. Les scientifiques utilisent une technique similaire dans leurs laboratoires pour isoler l'ADN afin de mener d'autres expériences et d'obtenir par exemple des profils d'ADN.

Conseils aux parents et aux enseignants: 

Trouvez des causes de véritables crimes dans lesquelles les preuves d'ADN ont été utilisées pour prononcer le verdict. Les preuves étaient-elles convaincantes? En quelle année ces causes ont-elles été entendues? Quels sont les changements apportés depuis les 10 dernières années aux techniques d'analyse d'ADN?

Discussion Points: 

Pre-Experiment Questions: 

  • Have you ever seen a movie or TV show that talked about DNA? 
  • Do identical twins have the same DNA? 
  • What else is determined by your DNA?

Post Experiment Questions: 

  • How would you describe your DNA? 
  • Does it look like/feel like what you expected? 
  • What kind of jobs with with DNA?

DNA Detective

Languages

Share This Experiment

Experiment Category: 

Objective: 

Solve the crime with DNA profiling.

What You Need: 

  • water
  • a squirt of dishwashing liquid
  • 1/2 a teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of ice cold ethanol or methylated spirits or rubbing alcohol (isopropanol)
  • two cups and
  • a clear container with a lid

To Do and Observe: 

1.Dissolve half a teaspoon of salt in half a cup of water. Add a squirt of dishwashing liquid. This liquid will be used to break up the cells and release the DNA.

2.Take about a tablespoon (20 - 25 mls) of plain water into your mouth. Don't swallow! Swish the water around your cheeks vigorously for about 30 seconds. This removes some cheek cells. Spit the water into a clean cup or glass.

3.Add about 1 teaspoon (5 mls) of this fluid to a small clean container with a lid (a 20 ml test-tube or a clear plastic film canister would work). Add about half a teaspoon (2.5 mls) of the salt/dishwashing liquid (saline/detergent) solution. Put the cap on the container and tip it up and down gently 3 or 4 times to mix (but you don't want a lot of froth so don't shake it). This will break up the many hundreds of cheek cells, releasing the DNA from the nucleus.

4.Gently run a teaspoonful of ice-cold ethanol into the tube. Methanol or rubbing alcohol - isopropanol - should also work; make sure they are ice cold by placing the bottle in the freezer for a few hours before the experiment. Watch the point where the two layers meet. You may see strands of DNA forming, as cloudy filaments stretching up into the top (ethanol) layer. DNA is not soluble in ethanol, so when the ethanol meets the DNA solution it starts to precipitate (form a DNA salt).

5.You may be able to hook out the strands of DNA with a glass hook (or one made from a plastic twist-tie) by slowly dipping up and down through the two layers. If this doesn't work, gently invert the tube several times until the alcohol is mixed in. The precipitated DNA will look like a small ball of white thread.

What's Going On: 

Every cell in your body has the same DNA in it! You used cheek cells because they're easy to collect. DNA is found in the nucleus of a cell, which is the "control center" for the cell. To get the DNA out, you needed to break open the cell, detergent will burst the cell membrane (the outer layer of a cell) and let the DNA and other cell "innards" float out. Adding the ethanol (or alcohol) separates the DNA strands from the other stuff inside your cells. Scientists actually use a similar technique in their laboratories to isolate DNA for further experiments, like DNA profiling.

Parent/Teacher Tips: 

Research true-crime cases in which a verdict was based on DNA evidence. How solid was the evidence? How old were the cases? How much has DNA profiling changed over the past decade?

Discussion Points: 

Pre-Experiment Questions: 

  • Have you ever seen a movie or TV show that talked about DNA? 
  • Do identical twins have the same DNA? 
  • What else is determined by your DNA?

Post Experiment Questions: 

  • How would you describe your DNA? 
  • Does it look like/feel like what you expected? 
  • What kind of jobs with with DNA?